Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.0
 Rooms  2.8
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  3.2
 Service & Staff  3.0
 Food / Dining  2.9
 Total  3.1

"Pekinguni hostel as last minute option"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Gelato L. of Milan, Italy
Reviewed:   September 19, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Pekinguni hostel is good as a last minute option if you need to book a cheap sleeping place before your arrival in the city (I arrived late at night and I wanted to have a place to go immediately after leaving the airport). I stayed in the 8-bed room and I haven't seen any of the other rooms so my opinion is only about this kind of room, the cheapest one, which I needed for only one night.
Besides the typically Chinese eternally wet floors in the hallways, the 8-bed rooms are crowded with students who actually live there. This means no place for your luggage. Besides this the room was quiet and with the students leaving early in the morning I had all the silence I needed to rest after my 20 hours trip from Europe to Beijing.
Still, I don't recommend it for more than one night.

"Not very good...."

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Giordano D. of Montesilvano, Italy
Reviewed:   August 28, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I slept on this hostel from 03th to 13th. 10 nights, and i have this ipinion about...
i'm italian, and in italy i use slep to comfortable bed, and this was.....so hard ! ehhehehe sincery:
Comfortable: dont think that's very comfortable, u can slep here, but only sleep ! not do others.
Kitchen Room: seems a horror's movie! REALLY! i cooked only one day and was very very DIRTY!
Staff: begin the staff was friendly, but after happened one thing.i booked until 13th, and i leaved hostel on 13th about 14.00am, and they asked me money for another night...also 13th night, i thought wrong, i didnt remember that i had leave hostel until 11.00am. Ok i did a mistaked, but i stay in this hostel only 3 hours after 11.00am, after i paid 180 yuen and i leave hostel without sleep over there.
And the boss sometimes is rude, expecially one time with mine gf.
I want say the last thing: after this experience i lived to hotel in Shang Di Xi Li, this hotel is near the entrance to Shang Di, and ober there you can pay 150 yuan for a room with 2 beds! bye!

"Uncooperative staff, poor room conditions, and overinflated prices"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Jeannetta C. of Boston, United States
Reviewed:   October 6, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My brief stay at Peking University Hostel was fortunately, my only negative experience in China. Whether asking the staff for assistance with use of the phone, or inquiring about a safety deposit box, they were usually unhelpful, and often rude. Even though they do speak English quite well, they fail to use it in a manner that reflects any amount of hospitality or competency.

The rooms were decent and generally clean but there is a faint order (probably coming from a nearby food court) that lingers in the halls of the enter place. The beds were uncomfortable but bearable. The showers and toilet were not as clean as I expected. Keep in mind that there are many Peking University/Tsinghua Students living in the hostel so you may be sharing the room with food, school books, and the entire contents of one's life, which can make living in the dorm-style crowded and uncomfortable.

They also charge higher prices that what they provide. Note: They are not the only "hostel" in the Haidian district, there are other places, including Beijing Center for Language Studies (BLCU), that offer single, private, clean rooms at great prices.

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Pavel S. of Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   August 14, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"convenient but not that friendly"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Alice M. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   June 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
convenient because close to the subway station and to restaurants/supermarkets. Rooms ok. Staff not that friendly (wake me up in the evening because they made a mistake and I should pay 2 yuans more...), and don't know very well the city for advices.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us