Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.2
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  3.9
 Total  4.3

"Great stay for the budget traveler + family"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Steve & Judy C. of Chapel Hill, United States
Reviewed:   February 12, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Extremely accommodating staff. Great value that includes Egyptian or continental breakfast, tea or coffee on arrival, advice on what to see & what scams to watch out for, & booking for various tours + drivers for places you want to visit in the area -- & there's LOTS to see! If you call in the evening Cairo time, ask for Mohammed Ali -- I'm not kidding, that's his name. Don't be afraid to ask for any help -- & if you do, they're constantly asking you what they can do for you. Rooms are clean & roomy & safe. You won't be disappointed. Oh, GREAT location, too, close to so many places that you can walk to -- but BE CAREFUL!!! I don't think there's a safe street in Cairo to cross without saying a prayer before stepping off!

"What a wonderful stay!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Y H. of Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed:   January 20, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We arrived at Isis Hotel 6 o clock in the morning....when we arrived out driver was waiting for us at the airport to swiftly take us to the hotel. On arrival we were provided with a room straight away instead of having to wait until the 11 am check in time. On short notice they managed to book us a tour to see the Pyramids which was fantastic. Our driver for the trip was Abdhul. He took us to see the pyramids on the first day and on the second day he took us on a tour of Old and New Cairo. Abdhul was such a pleasure! He has an extensive knowledge about Cairo and makes you feel very welcome. We decided not to see some of the usual tourist sights and Abdhul on very short notice adapted his normal route to show us something different. We went to see some gardens in Cairo which gave us breathtaking sights of the entire city.

Breakfast was simple but nice...consisting out of fresh rolls and cheese and jam. On our second day we were treated to a typical Egyptian breakfast which was refreshing. The people at Isis hotel try really hard to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. We were looking for a budget hotel and believe that we got more than our money's worth during our stay. The front of staff are very helpful and made us many cups of tea and ensured we had all we needed. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and the view are spectacular...

One of the hilights of the trip was definately the Nile River Cruise.... it is definately a must see...We were picked up from our hotel and dropped off which made it very convenient.

Overall I was very impressed to see that they took the effort to reply timeosly to my numerous e-mails before the trip where I asked many different questions, this really put me at ease.

Thank you to all for a wonderful stay! I would recommend it to any one who would like to stay at a place where the staff are truly patriotic about their country....True value for money!

Oh! and there is internet as well for those people like myself who cannot live without facebook :)

"Know what to expect"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Paul P. of Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed:   January 10, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Isis Hotel is a budget Hotel. The rooms and beds are comfortable and clean. The lift is an experience you would like to forget ASAP. The staffs are friendly, but so are all Egyptians. Be aware that they will try to get more money out of you with a smile on their face, but so will all Egyptians. The tours they organize will always cost more than they advertise, and the driver will take you to the most expensive places possible. And always have 60 LE (Egyptian Pounds ready.)
Overall, it is a place to sleep and it is safe, except for the lift.

"Good and friendly service, but facilities need serious work on"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Viktoriya H. of Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed:   December 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Of important mention is friendly and reliable service. Location is very close to the Museum. On the other hand hall, rooms and reception are too worn out and need serious improvement. Rooms are spacious with good view. Some bathrooms are better than others, but generally need replacement. The hotel is generally clean, but worn out bath tabs, holes in curtains, carpets, furniture etc. give a bit misleading impression in this sense.

"Badget Hotel"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Vera G. of Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   December 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good value for money. Likely for short stays.

"A lot of Scope to improve"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Manish P. of Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed:   December 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
You are definitely in for a surprise to see the hotel on top floor of a residential tower and just cannot relate it to the wonderful website that ISIS hotel has.
If you are a white skin you may get lucky with nice view from your hotel room, most Asians (Like me) and Latins (My cruis mate family) end up with the dirty view from the hotel and don’t know that there are rooms with better view till you get to see other side view of hotel when at reception
The staff is good however not trained enough in English in spite of the fact that most of visitors that they might have are from US/Europe/India.
If you are booking cruise/any other package with the hotel ensure that you clarify each and every itenary in writing as there is lot of GAP in what is told as compared to what you get as
1. The tours are organized by a different tour agency and ISIS hotel is just a middleman/facilitator
2. ISIS hotel has no control over how the plans change and hence get frustrated at time.
Cruise price do not include Sleeper train (travellingin I class seater with lights onthe whole night drains u so much that you dont feel like going on a sigh seeing tours next day morning in Luxor or Aswan)
If you are looking for a private English speaking guide for tours in and around Cairo,ensure he is the right guy; we were extremely displeased with the guide even though we had paid quiet a descent amount for private car and Guide.

Hotel rooms are ok (Only if you want to convince yourself about comparatively cheap rates), however I heard from others in cruise that you can get much better hotels for same price in Cairo. The most adventurous part of staying in hotel is using a bathroom, adjusting hot and cold water to get an optimal temp of water outta tap is an art that you will perfect after burning yourself few times with 90 deg hot water outa tap!!!. If you are a couple or travel in group ensure you get to loo first as flush normally will work after 10-15 minutes (due to lack of water pressure) once used !!!!!
The hotel is equiped with Satellite TV and Fridge which is very good , there are no telephones in room.
If you are a veggie breakfast is a challenge as you normaly get Cold white buns with tea/cofee, no other options.

The Hotel needs a lot of improvement inorder to cater to internationl tourists and I hope they work in that direction.

"Humble but helpful"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Amelia K. of Shaker Hts, OH, United States
Reviewed:   December 12, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Accommodations at the Isis Hotel are -- make no bones about it -- extremely humble. If you are looking for a nice hotel at bargain prices, this is not it. But what it lacks in polish, the staff more than makes up for in attentiveness and helpfulness. The excursions are reasonably priced and well-planned. Our family had many, many questions about arranging our visit to Egypt prior to arriving and all emails were answered promptly and patiently. The staff was absolutely lovely with our three children once we were there. The location is fantastic. Just know you are getting more hostel-type room/bath/breakfast set-up than hotel.

"nice and central"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Rolf D. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   November 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Isis is a very nice hotel in the modern center of Cairo. Rooms are clean with towel and private bathroom. The egyptian museam is close and Nasser metro station is also close. Abou Tarek, the Kushari King, is around the corner. The staff is kind and helpfull. Breakfast could be improved.

"Very Good Location"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Mark L. of centreville/virginia, United States
Reviewed:   November 10, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hotel is OK for its price; but it isn't as good as the photos shown on the internet. We chose it for its location: in walking distance to the Egyptian Museum, the central bus station to the Pyrimads and the airport.

"our visit here"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Oussama H. of berlin, Gibraltar
Reviewed:   October 30, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good Staff, mohamed ali is the best here, the rooms very clean, staff friendly only the elevator is little bit .........(:


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 38 reviews  Next 10 results




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us