Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.2

"Friendly Service and Decent Amenities"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Eric G. of Austin TX, United States
Reviewed:   June 19, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall, my experience at the hostel was pleasant. Staff was attentive, rooms were clean, facilities were functional. Fantastic location with quick and easy access to metro line. The only downside was that the toilets were frequently out of toilet paper. With that being said I would stay here again and would recommend .

"Excellent"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Carla R. of Termoli, Italy
Reviewed:   June 5, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Amazing staff, excellent position (close to metro station.)
The roof deck is its secret gem! I would definitely recommend it

"Terrible"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Meng-Chin W. of Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed:   May 30, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've stayed in many hostels back in Taiwan and in the United States and I never had issues with any of them, but this time I have to say I don't recommend this hostel. First of all, when I just arrived, the staff was not really welcoming. Maybe he does not like this job at all or something idk. It's not really important but I didn't have a good first impression on this hostel.
Besides, the room is really small. Imagine how uncomfortable it is to be in a small room which accommodates 12 people in there. Even though the windows were open, the air in the room was just disgusting. I could literally smell other people's hair when I was in the room. Also, they don't have enough bathrooms here (not to mention that there were some bathrooms out of order during my stay). People here generally were nice, but one day someone over-flushed the toilet when it's stuck. I don't know how many times he or she flushed the toilet, but whatever was in the toilet was everywhere on the bathroom floor. It's really gross. The only thing I like about the hostel is probably breakfast. You can make your own pancakes or eat oatmeal with freshly brewed coffee.
To sum up, It's a place where you can meet many people, but I believe there are more and better options in Chicago when you're on budget. Oh btw, if you still wanna stay here, bring enough cash with you cuz they charge for an extra fee when you pay with cards. I won't stay in this hostel ever again.

"Best place to stay in Chicago"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Bianca D. of Shellharbour, Australia
Reviewed:   May 26, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've stayed at the IHSP Hostel twice, and both of my stays there have been fantastic!

The hostel's located in a trendy, lively and young district with lots of bars, cafes and shops. I've had awesome nights out in the area, there's live music venues nearby, and I've meet plenty of great people both in and outside of the hostel. As a bonus, the hostel is just down the road from the Damen train station, which is conveniently on the same train line as O'Hare airport. It's just a short bus/train ride into the centre of the city. I love staying here rather than at the centre of the city; it's definitely where you'll meet more locals.

The staff here are awesome! Everyone was super helpful and friendly- my stays at the hostel were two years apart, and it was the same each time. They're up for a chat and really make you feel like home. I even got travel advice for London, my next destination, and job advice about things that really interest me from Reece.

The dorm rooms are spacious, and the kitchen and lounge area are a great space to hang out in. The rooftop has a great view, and there's quiet nooks throughout the hostel if you need to get some work/homework/etc done. There's actual bathrooms, nice ones, with proper showers, not just cubicles.

I really felt at home here; and that's why I keep coming back. Definitely recommend this place!

"Not too bad"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   D K. of Austin/Texas, United States
Reviewed:   May 20, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff helpful and welcoming even if a bit absent-minded and "too" chill sometimes. Utilities not great, we ran out of toilet paper several times, not enough showers for the huge number of residents. Wifi really bad, laundry for guests doesn't work neither.
Hostel clean, great terrace on the roof, good location (25 min from downtown via subway) and 2min from subway.

"Great price for the location"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Juan I. of mar del plata, Argentina
Reviewed:   May 14, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Chicago's Six Corners is one of the best places of Chicago. If you have visited Chicago before of don't want be in downtown, this is the place, as the blue line will take to the loop in about 20min and you get to stay in a great young/beer/coffee/food oriented hood of the best city ever!

"Pretty nice stay at IHSP Chicago Hostel"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Sophie L. of Toulouse, France
Reviewed:   May 4, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel location is very good, literally a block away the metro on the blue line which is direct to both the airport and Chicago dowtown.

The room (10 beds mixed-dorm) was ok and the linen provided were clean. The very good point of the hostel is the warm common room. It is very easy to chill there while it is raining outside. The breakfast with the pancakes is really nice!

"Great hostel in a great location"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Carly D. of Minneapolis, United States
Reviewed:   May 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostel is in a very convenient location for public transportation and is near many good restaurants and bars. It's a great place for a social stay. If you are looking for something private/quite this may not be the place for you.

"Great place to stay!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dean F. of Cape Girardeau, United States
Reviewed:   May 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
2nd trip to the Windy City, was great! No frills, just a good and secure room and a clean place to clean up!

"Super cool!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Bryan N. of Austin TX, United States
Reviewed:   April 24, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have stayed at this hostel multiple times and it is always great fun. Simple, dorm style rooms, and the location cannot be beat. I usually am traveling with 15-20 people and this works out well.


1 - 10 of 431 reviews  Next 10 results




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us