Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.8
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"JUST OK"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Karla D. of Weston, United States
Reviewed:   February 27, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
great location, rooms are dark. some dont even have windows, even with windiws lighting was terrrible, fgood breakfasts. Can get noisy

"satisfechos gracias"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Erika M. of san jose costa rica, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   February 21, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
todo estubo mu de nuestro agrado, y muy hermoso el hotel gracias

"Best location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Guisela G. of Houston, United States
Reviewed:   February 13, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Location is perfect!

"Convenient Convent"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lee B. of Fresno, CA, United States
Reviewed:   November 28, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina (del arco) is located at the landmark arch in Antigua, which is convenient to just about everything in the town. The Parque Central and Cathedral are a mere 2 1/2 blocks away; there are restaurants, cafes, and watering holes in every direction; el mercado is only 5 1/2-6 blocks away in one direction, while Nim Pot and Nativo's are practically across the street.

The restaurant, courtyard, and rooms are all clean with an early Spanish Colonial look. My room (for the second year in a row) was very comfortable, and the shower did have plenty of hot water (needed after 5 days in the jungles of central Guatemala). The daytime desk clerks speak English and can give directions to locations within the town.

Overall, a great location, great value, and wonderful experience. BTW, it is possible to ignore the bells that ring every 15 minutes all day and night!

"Nice but Noisy"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Barbara B. of Chewelah WA, United States
Reviewed:   November 18, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Beautiful room right off the central courtyard. Lovely in the daytime but when the band played in the courtyard until late it was impossible to sleep! I had an really early shuttle to the airport in the morning and had a heck of a time waking the guy at the front desk up to open the door for me. Located under the famous arch but the bell rings all night long as well.

"Hotel Convento Santa Catalina"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Marta S. of Barranquilla y Cartagena, Colombia
Reviewed:   October 30, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Estupendo hotel en la bella Antigua Guatemala, tipo colonial; la atenciòn de sus empleados es muy buena y el servicio para contactar los minibuses para ir al aeropuerto, excelente.

Muy buenas habitaciones.

Fueron seis noches gratas de estadìa en el Hotel Convento Santa catalina

"Excelente!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Marcela G. of San José, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   August 23, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Un excelente lugar para hospedarse, al mejor estilo colonial. No tuvimos ningún problema, cerca de bares,mrestaurantes, a dos cuadras del parque.... Limpio, cómodo, seguro y con buen servicio al cliente!

Sin dudas, volveríamos!

"Santa Catalina Convento"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Laurie L. of Boulder, United States
Reviewed:   May 30, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The front desk staff was very helpful, however I did see that they double charged us for a night and we paid over $100 extra, so watch your bills carefully. The housekeeping and general staff were great, very helpful with luggage, etcetera. The restaurant I believe is overpriced for quality, the staff very slow and not so nice, we only ate one breakfast and lunch there after that experience. The setting is quite lovely, and for the price, it is well worth it and the rooms are nice. There was a little negligence of lamps working, but the rooms were kept very clean and all our possessions safe.

"gracias por todo"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Bette J. of Cody, United States
Reviewed:   April 5, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a wonderful seven-night stay at el Convento Santa Catalina. I wish to especially thank the chef for preparing a chicken soup for me one afternoon because i was having stomach problems. That was beyond the call of duty. Please greet the lady assistant chef for me -- cuyo nombre me he olvidado.

We also enjoyed Miko who came to our room for a nap.

I would certainly make reservations at your hotel again. I have stayed there with Refuge on other occasions. Room 106 is wonderful.

Mil gracias y hasta la proxima.

Bette Jaedicke

"Great location, friendly and full of character"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   David M. of Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 3, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Located right under the Arch - nice cloistered terrace restaurant. No computer available for guests, but they have a sister hotel nearby where we went to check-in to our flights and print-off our boarding passes.

Certainly will stay there again when next in Antigua. price ~ $30 per person. Note that the Lonely Planet Guide's description of this hotel is wrong and they've mixed-up the Hotel Convento Santa Catalina with some luxury $$$ hotel


1 - 10 of 13 reviews  Next 3 results




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us