Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  3.5
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.4
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  4.0

"Do not stay here!"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Matt H. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   July 13, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostal is freezing cold, and the hot water ont worked once my entire stay. The staff are rude and only 1 person speaks english and he only works during the day. If you don't speak Spanish, I wouldn't stay here. Breakfast is a joke, 1 egg and a roll of bread. My single room was He smallest room I've ever stayed in. Cleaners leave your doors unlocked... Room keys work on all of the rooms (accidentally opened up someone else's room). Moved part way through my stay to Casa de la Gringa, much better option!!

"hotel tres moyen"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   BADER G. of OBERLARG, France
Reviewed:   November 12, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
on nous avons promis un endroit pour garer nos motos et une fois sur place c'était impossible, on a du payer un stationnement plusieurs rues plus loin.

"Good pick"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Vivien H. of Bielefeld, Germany
Reviewed:   September 16, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2011     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice location for a stay of a few days. It´s not really close to the city centre so you´ll have to take a taxi. The rooms are big enough and have electric heating and the bathrooms are modern, clean and have a lot of hot water available. The staff is extremely friendly and polite and do everything to make you happy. The patio is really pretty but cold in wintertime so you´ll need to drink a lot of the free tea. Only the breakfast was a bit disappointing; we preferred to have breakfast in town.

"Do not stay in Hostal Cusi Wasi"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Ingrid E. of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed:   July 18, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had the unpleasant experience of staying in Hostal Cusi Wasi for 2 days. After the first day I quickly looked for another hotel to leave the hostal as soon as possible. The Hostal is overpriced (US$ 50 double per night) and is located in the main access of Cusco, meaning that all trucks and buses and cars pass in the avenue, so the room is very noisy and stinks of burned diesel. When I arrived I already wasn't feeling very well because of the high altitude, and the smell and noise didn't help. The Hostal is far away from the main square (Plaza de Armas), and you have to climb a hill to get to it. I moved to an excellent hotel close to the square for US$ 59 per night! Hostal Cusi Wasi is really overpriced for what it has to offer. Not to mention the breakfast, which was awful.

"Great little Hotel"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Axel E. of Brooklyn, United States
Reviewed:   April 8, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Helpful attentive staff. Gorgeous little courtyard and killer breakfast

"No buenas impresiones"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   BYRON B. of QUITO/PICHINCHA, Ecuador
Reviewed:   April 19, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
El cuarto ( habitación triple) no disponía de agua caliente en las tardes y las noches. Solo unas pocas horas en la mañana. Las puerta del baño no cerraba completamente. Era evidente la falta de mantenimiento. El inodoro y el desague de la ducha despedía malos olores.

"Mejor otra opcion"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Monica D. of Madrid, Spain
Reviewed:   January 13, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Demasiado alejado del centro de Cuzco. Poca seriedad del personal, dicen que el desayuno comienza a una hora y luego es mentira. Las habitaciones cutres y sin calefacción, el colchón más duro en el que he dormido. Ofrecen excursiones el doble de caras que otros agentes de turismo.

"An air of pretension"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Erin B. of Hilo, HI, United States
Reviewed:   October 21, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If Cusi Wasi was the only hostel that I stayed at in Cusco, perhaps my review would be a bit more forgiving. However, since I had already stayed in another hostel for the same price/accomodations, I had a basis of comparison.

The photos on the internet look very cute, inviting, and well groomed. The courtyard, which is featured in the photos, lives up to this expectation, but the rooms do not. They seem to have put much energy into making a fancy-looking courtyard and reception office, but if they put that energy into the rooms instead, it would be much more comfortable.

My room was a double room, with 2 beds. The room was the smallest of my whole trip, which included a few other rooms. The window by my bed was separated from the wall on one side, leaving a gap that was larger than an inch. I stuffed a towel into the gap, to prevent critters from appearing on my head during the night.

The beds were quite close together with virtually no room to put our bags anywhere in the room, except on our beds. There was, however, a space heater that worked very well.

The bathroom had a window which we could not close. This window was open to some sort of shaft or cavity. Cold air came in. Also, we could see into someone else's bathroom across the cavity. We had no shower curtain. Assuming they could also see our bathroom, this was a bit odd. However, true to their advertisement, Cusi Wasi provides piping hot water and strong water pressure 24 hours per day! This was a wonderful perk.

The hostel was quite secure, in that there was no way that I could find to actually get out of the hostel complex at night. My friend wasn't feeling well, and I decided to walk to one of the nearby convenient stores. I could not even get into the reception room, which had the door to the 'outside world'. I was locked into Cusi Wasi, and could find no other way out! But it was reassuring to know that nobody could come in.

Free transportation to and from the airport seemed like a great bonus. They had someone waiting for us at the train station when we arrived from Machu Picchu, and we were thankful for that. However, to get back to the airport when we wanted to leave, they would only call us a cab, no free transportation.

The complimentary breakfast consisted of flatbread and jam, with tea or coffee. Good bread, but not as hearty as some of our other hostel breakfasts.

As a warning, they seem to prefer dealings in $US rather than local currency of Soles.

Good luck, and if anyone from Cusi Wasi reads my review, I hope that they take the suggestions to heart. But, I sincerely thank Cusi Wasi for the long hot shower. It was the best shower of my trip, even though I was a bit worried about my neighbors seeing me.

"disappointed"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Romain G. of paris, France
Reviewed:   October 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i'm disappointed by this hostel for a room very expensive
it's written VISA but they don't take it because people don't knew run the machine, so it's no inacceptable !!

"ay. Cusi Wasi Problems"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Catherine C. of New York, NY, United States
Reviewed:   July 13, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would never go to Cusi Wasi. The rooms are dark and significantly more expensive than better rooms closer to the main plaza. There is a mildew smell in many of the rooms.

What is worse is that we had made a reservation over the internet. When we arrived and saw the rooms, we did not want to stay but the owner made a huge fuss saying that he had booked these rooms. We agreed to pay/stay for one night and would look for another room. We found another room and were going to pay for the first night, but again the man made a huge fuss about it. He would not let it go causing a very unpleasant experience for us. We agreed to pay for another night that we were not there.

IN addition, we had made reservatons for the train to machu picchu and the inti raymi festival. We paid sinificantly more for those excursions by making the reservations over the internet.

Addtionally, the one breakfast we had was stale bread and coffee. All in all, a very expensive, and very poor experience.i


1 - 10 of 10 reviews




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us