Pilgrim Reservations
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.3

"Good"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Audrey P. of Toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   January 11, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Garden District House is good depending on what you're looking for
We stayed in a private room 4 nights, for a great rate
We also stayed in Treme and French District

Location: The hostel was very quite, on a quieter street on the edge of the Garden District. Also, it was quiet season when we went, as well as Christmas (where most things are closed outside of the French Quarter). It was exceptional quiet when we went, so our experience may not be the norm.

Cleanliness: Good, no issues! The hostel room, common area, washrooms were all clean. You can tell its wiped down or checked up on at least daily

Atmosphere: QUIET. The TV area only has a love seat and 2 seater table. It does not give the traditional "hostel feel" where everyone can hang out together in a common space.
If you are looking to make new friends here, perhaps stay in a dorm room, but everyone seemed to be keeping to themselves
Like a hotel, no mingling/fun events were laid out during Christmas time

I am a smaller female so it may be helpful to add that I felt a tad uneasy. At around 3AM someone was banging on the door and ringing the doorbell constantly. We didn't open the door, the vibe of the area made me feel uncomfortable with opening the door for anyone at that hour

Service: Reception is friendly and was chill. They were quiet nice, but it is not 24hrs. They tell ppl to call their helpline if assistance is needed. This is hard to do if you're not American with a phone plan. If they have an email/messenger app that was advertised as being monitored, this would be much better for foreign travellers with data/wifi access

Free Breakfast: Good! It was nice this was offered, the kitchen was clean. When we went it was self-made pancakes, apples, tea/coffee, oatmeal. Can't complain about free, it was a great option to have :)

Price: Fair! We paid a good rate, which was hard to find elsewhere. The location is good but I mind you it is not that central within the Garden District. But the price was so good it`s worth walking 10-20 more mins.

The area is up and coming, NOLA was amazing

"Stay here!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Yolanda S. of Austin,TX, United States
Reviewed:   January 6, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I recently stayed her when a friend of mine bailed on our trip to San Fran. On a whim, I decided to come to NOLA. I booked literally less than 24 hrs when my vacation started and I got a spot! The stay here was beyond amazing!! It was my first time staying in a hostel and this place exceeded my expectations! It’s a house converted so you get that homey and comfort vibe. The beds and room were clean and great. There’s even a patio in the middle of the house which is great to have breakfast and to read a book. The staff was helpful and great! Nadia especially! She was warming and welcoming! We talked about places to see, eat, bars, shopping, etc. By the end of my stay she wasn’t the staff to me any longer but a friend! I highly recommend this place. Trust me. You won’t regret it!

"Horrible Maniacs"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Wei Z. of Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed:   January 4, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed there about a year ago, there was someone taking stuff from my backpack in the middle of the night, you can definitely tell it was not by mistake as there was thin down jacket (I got four season clothes) it was summer and the bag was right next to my bed, everything in my bag were placed outside, i do have cash in the top pocket but it was locked, very clearly he was trying to take my stuff out to reach the pocket from the bottom, I called the police, that guy was not drunk not offended was trying to make things easy so you can tell he was definitely trying to steal. And this time I went back there cause other hostels in garden district were full, they literally told me due to previous conflicts I’m banned to stay at all of their 3 hostels forever, which is really funny, I actually don’t know which conflict they refer to, cause in French Quarter hostel there was a reception accuse me for pacing in and out of a dorm room continuously 7-8 times, does it even make sense? While after 3 am there were people drinking, dancing, playing loud music in the common area while the dorm right next to it there were people sleeping, the lights were left on and door was left wide open! And the reception says its a hostel it’s common!

"Thank you Staff of the Garden District House"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Charles M. of Detroit, United States
Reviewed:   January 2, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was my first time using a hostel. This was my first time in New Orleans. The staff of the Garden District House are very professional, courteous, and kind. I had the greatest time meeting people from all over the world!

I will definitely be back to visit the great city of New Orleans. I will MOST definitely stay at the Garden District House again. Thank you all!

"Great value"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   El E. of Haines, AK, United States
Reviewed:   December 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice little hostel in good area of city. Nice staff. Hostel is fairly clean. Great value with breakfast included. My only critique is that the metal bunk bed in my room was a bit flimsy and squeaky. I suggest upgrading to sturdier wooden beds. Overall, great place to stay.

"Excellent place"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Carlos M. of MEDELLIN, Colombia
Reviewed:   November 15, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's a good hostel, good ubication and you can enjoy the authentic life in new orleans.

"Three Night Stay"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Charlie T. of California, United States
Reviewed:   November 4, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Garden House offered no-frills, satisfactory dorm-style rooms in a lovely neighborhood. The restroom facilities were clean. The service staff were courteous and helpful. Especially Pablo! Ask him about recommendations for dining and city attractions. The main door to the house and the door to the room require a key card and a security code. Safety is not a issue. The beds weren't the most comfortable and "free breakfast" leaves a lot to be desired. But overall, for the money, it was a good experience. Recommended for travelers on a budget.

"pablo is the best"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Suzanne K. of madison, United States
Reviewed:   May 7, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
had many problems at time of travel and Pablo solved them all. thanks to him and Josh I was able to complete my travels having had a wonderful stay at the hostel. the private room is well worth the extra cost. Close to Magazine st and many wonderful restaurants.

"Great setting"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ron S. of Rockland, United States
Reviewed:   March 28, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I called the afternoon of March 20(?). I am biking across the country and time is not very important. I was given a private room for that night. I was greeted warmly by Paublo(?) and told where to wash my clothes and how to find Faulkner's apartment and the revolving bar. My only regret is that I was only able to stay one night.

"Nice, quiet hostel"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Victoria G. of Clemson, United States
Reviewed:   March 26, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We are 5 students and booked a private room for us. The hostel wasn't too big but it was ok. The bunk beds were comfortable enough and everything was clean. I liked you could have breakfast outside; luckily the weather was very good. I think they could improve the breakfast options since it was basically waffles or pancakes.

I loved they had guitars, we spent some time playing and singing.

The location is good, although it wasn't too close to Bourbon Street where you have all the bars (it didn't matter to us because we had a car).

The staff was pretty friendly, they gave us recommendations on what to do, the restaurant Pablo recommended us was great (Down the hatch)! It's a pity we only spent 2 nights there, it's definitely worth spending more time in NOLA!


1 - 10 of 78 reviews  Next 10 results




PilgrimReservations Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us